Thriller Book Mix

Cover mania!

More cover mania!

Random book reviews

A study of terror and intellect in the tradition of Joseph Heller and George Steiner. Published to acclaim in 1977, this controversial novel of ideas follows Konrad Rutkowski-professor of medieval history and former Gestapo officer-as he returns t...

How to Quiet a Vampire: A Sotie (Writings from an Unbound Europe)

Surrealism in its late phase often abandoned neutral exhibition spaces in favor of environments that embodied subjective ideologies. These exhibitions offered startled viewers an early version of installation art before the form existed as such. I...

Displaying the Marvelous: Marcel Duchamp, Salvador Dali, and Surrealist Exhibition Installations

The first of its kind, Two Weeks is collection of 58 all-new poems by established and emerging voices in contemporary poetry. Released exclusively in ebook format, the anthology was completed in only 14 days -- from the online call for submissions...

Two Weeks: A Digital Anthology of Contemporary Poetry

A precursor to Surrealism, the Dada movement stressed the absurd and unpredictable, the illogical and chaotic, lashing out against traditional aesthetics and upending artistic conventions. Emerging from the artistic milieu of Zurich during World W...

Dadaism (25)

In Aeneas, Virgil created the most powerful figure in Latin literature, the dutiful yet fallible Trojan prince who overcomes war, suffering and countless setbacks to lay the foundations of the Roman race. @TranslatioStud Got a gift of a huge woode...

The Aeneid (Penguin Classics)

Written around AD 1200 by an unnamed Icelandic author, the Orkneyinga Saga is an intriguing fusion of myth, legend and history. The only medieval chronicle to have Orkney as the central place of action, it tells of an era when the islands were sti...

Orkneyinga Saga: The History of the Earls of Orkney (Penguin Classics)

Lighthearted romance, sweet and funny. Idyllic, quaint, and straight out of a Norman Rockwell painting is St. Claire, Louisiana-at least on the outside. Beneath the veneer, it's anything but. That's the secret of St. Claire. Born and raised in St....

The Secret of St. Claire

This is the first edition for students and general readers of this pro-woman reply to Shakespeare's The Taming of the Shrew by a playwright (John Fletcher) who was more admired than Shakespeare in the seventeenth century. A unique and essential co...

The Tamer Tamed; or, The Woman's Prize (Revels Student Editions)

Marina Tsvetaeva (1892-1941) ranks with Anna Akhmatova, Osip Mandelstam, and Boris Pasternak as one of Russia's greatest twentieth-century poets. Her suicide at the age of forty-eight was the tragic culmination of a life beset by loss and hardship...

Earthly Signs

This detailed commentary on the action and argument of Sophocles' Antigone is meant to be a reflection on and response to Hegel's interpretation in the Phenomenology (VI. A. a-b). It thus moves within the principles Hegel discovers in the play but...

Sacred Transgressions

More reviews